Tribute to Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

abdul kalam ji

I don’t want to bore you guys by telling you a bunch of things you already know about Dr. Kalam. But I don’t think we’ll ever get tired of hearing things about this great man. To those who do not know, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam was born to Jainulabudeen and Ashiamma on the 15th of October, 1931 in Rameshwaram, Tamilnadu, India. (a fact in which I take great pride!) After his studies, he started his career as a scientist in DRDO, and then transferred to ISRO. He received the Padma Bhushan, the Padma Vibhushan and the Bharat Ratna- the highest civilian award in India, for his exemplary service. Dr. Kalam then went on to become the 11th President of Independent India. I had a chance to meet Dr. Kalam when he came to a nearby university many years ago, but I missed it- a fact that I regret very much now. I cried a lot when I saw the news about his death, like the rest of the Indian populace. It’s just amazing that someone you haven’t even seen can make you feel so much. There’s just something about his personality that is so reassuring… like he’ll always be there for us. His humility is something that I’ve heard a lot about. On one occasion, when Dr. Kalam had gone to Ooty, his room’s door had a sign board that read ‘Bharat Ratna Dr. Kalam’. To which he refused, saying that the law did not permit a person to add honorary awards before his name! Now That’s something that you do not see everyday. Dr. Abdul Kalam always wanted to be remembered as a good teacher- and that’s what he’ll always be remembered as.

I want to add that today’s also my beloved Grandpa’s birthday- which we’ll be celebrating in a short while.

A Very Very Happy Birthday to all of you guys celebrating out there!- and I hope that a lot of new Kalams are born today!

Leave a Reply

