Where I Grew Up

This is a post I’ve been wanting to write for a long time. Needless to say, our surroundings play an important role in shaping our lives. Today, I thought I’d give you guys some info on my beautiful colony, situated on the outskirts of Coimbatore.

DSC_0228

Seen above is the entrance to my colony. It was established in 1983, and the first settlers worked in the Indian Overseas Bank. Hence the name I.O.B Colony.

DSC_0209

This is our own beautiful temple dedicated to Lord Ganesha. I spent some great moments of my childhood playing in the temple premises with my friends. Actually, the colony is comprised only of the four streets surrounding the temple, but as years passed, it has expanded a lot and is spread over many acres.

DSC_0206

The park attached to the temple is directly in front of my house. I had a lot of awesome times here too. It was opened five years ago and there was a fountain in the center. Of course, we broke it the very next day, but it was still fun!

DSC_0213

Our library was started a few years after the colony was established. This was where I developed my love for reading. Last time I went, the librarian told me hundreds of books taken off the shelves haven’t been returned yet. Though I’m not proud of it, I still find it slightly amusing.

DSC_0232

To me, my colony feels like a safe haven, being surrounded by mountains on three sides. On one of these mountains is the Marudhamalai temple built somewhere around the 1950’s. You can get a view of the hill temple from almost anywhere in the colony.

DSC_0236

This was a place I loved going to when I was a kid. It somehow seemed to hold a hint of mystery in it. A stream used to run here decades ago, and there is a sort of mud- bridge across it. Then, a few years later, my parents stopped allowing me there since it was no longer ‘safe’. Today I got a chance to go there again to take pictures for my post. The smell of the Eucalyptus and the cold air is so refreshing.

DSC_0238

Blogging about my colony makes me nostalgic. I remember the times when we used to cycle all around the place, in sun or rain, unhindered. The sense of freedom was just exhilarating. To this day, the beauty of my surroundings has never ceased to awe me. And I’m really glad this is where I grew up.

Leave a Reply

